sleepmakeswaves are an instrumental rock band from sydney, australia.

The band came together in late 2006 with a desire to write textured, dynamic and emotive songs combining delicate beauty with dramatic climaxes. After their 2007 demo generated unexpected buzz, they went on to independently produce 2 further EPs. Strong word of mouth and critical praise saw the band’s listener base grow worldwide, with over 50,000 people downloading their tracks online and airplay on triple j, Radio K and the BBC.

In late 2011, the band released their debut studio album “…and so we destroyed everything” through independent Australian label Bird’s Robe Records.  Over three years of touring in support of the album, their busy schedule included 8 Australian tours, 3 European tours, touring the USA and playing SXSW, tours with 65daysofstatic and Karnivool – and an unprecedented nomination for an ARIA Award in 2012.

In 2014, the band kicked off another amazing run, touring with Karnivool & Dead Letter Circus, headlining their biggest Australian tour to date and playing a rapturous set at Newtown Festival in their hometown. Their new album ‘Love of Cartography’ has been nominated for an ARIA Award, a J Award and AIR Award, as well as featuring the triple j playlisted singles ‘Something Like Avalanches’ and ‘Great Northern.’

In 2015, sleepmakeswaves announced the ‘Great Northern’ tour, taking in 55 shows across 22 countries, including the UK, Europe, Asia, Australia and New Zealand, from March to June.

In late 2015, the band capped off the year at the 5-year anniversary show for Bird’s Robe Records and Port Macquarie’s Festival of the Sun, including a farewell to longtime guitarist Jonathan Khor.

2016 saw the released of ‘traced in constellations’ as a single and a 54-date tour including a return to North America for the first time in four years, touring alongside progressive rockers The Contortionist & Monuments. The band, with new guitarist Daniel Oreskovic, also recorded a show-stopping session with Audiotree Live, released as an EP mid-year.

Following the mammoth US run, sleepmakeswaves were announced as support for COG on their sold out reunion tour. In addition, the band headlined their own shows nationally with support from The Contortionist.

2017 will see the release of the third album from sleepmakeswaves, a headline tour of China, Europe & Australia, supporting Devin Townsend Project around Australia & New Zealand and much more.

With a devoted following around the world for their innovative and expansive music, coupled with an electrifying live show, the future looks bright for this young instrumental quartet.


Otto Wicks-green – guitar

Daniel Oreskovic – guitar

Alex Wilson – bass, synth, electronics

Tim Adderley – drums


About ‘Love of Cartography’

Love Of Cartography is the second album from Sydney ambient/melodic post-rockers sleepmakeswaves.

Following their ARIA-nominated debut …and so we destroyed everything, the band have created their most epic, intricate and powerful record to date. Love Of Cartography showcases their dynamic and energetic approach to modern post-rock, whilst retaining their signature melodic hooks.

With a series of memorable and thundering sequences, the album presents the band’s continued desire to map new creative directions within an instrumental rock framework.

The band’s heavy touring schedule of the past three years (sharing stages with 65daysofstatic, Karnivool & Russian Circles) has honed their powerful live energy, which has been captured impressively on the album.

Recorded in Byron Bay at Studio 301 with producer Nick DiDia (Karnivool, Pearl Jam, Stone Temple Pilots, Powderfinger, Rage Against The Machine), the album’s 10 tracks range from the epic bombast of ‘Perfect Detonator’ to the delicate and subtle electronic flourishes of ‘A Little Spark.’

– nominated for 2014 ARIA Award

– nominated for 2014 J Award

– nominated for 2014 AIR Award

– ‘Something Like Avalanches’ & ‘Great Northern’ added to triple j rotation

– #118 on the USA CMJ Top 200

Track listing:

1. Perfect Detonator
2. Traced In Constellations
3. Singularity
4. Emergent
5. Great Northern
6. The Stars Are Stigmata
7. A Little Spark
8. How We Built The Ocean
9. Something Like Avalanches
10. Your Time Will Come Again